Listen to the Wise

I’m finally doing my first Blog Series! I’m so excited because for the months of December and January I am going to be adding to a series called Thirty Sayings of the Wise. These sayings come from Proverbs 21:17 – 24:22. This week we are starting with Saying 1 from Proverbs 21:17-21. Wondering why I’m doing this series? Or even why it is so important? Follow along with me through this first post and I think it explains it well.

Saying 1

Pay attention and turn your ear to the sayings of the wise;
apply your heart to what I teach,
for it is pleasing when you keep them in your heart
and have all of them ready on your lips.
So that your trust may be in the LORD,
I teach you today, even you.
Have I not written thirty sayings for you,
sayings of counsel and knowledge,
teaching you to be honest and to speak the truth,
so that you bring back truthful reports
to those you serve?

-Proverbs 21:17-21

The bible is telling us here that listening to the wise is important! And this is coming from Solomon, the man who we know in 2 Chronicles 1:11-12 God granted Wisdom and Knowledge to him above any other man before him or after him. So these words that he is giving us must be important.

As we go through the rest of these sayings in the next months, we should keep this in mind. We must not just read the words, but we must hear them and apply them to our hearts. As mentioned above, we also must have these words ready to speak as they will apply to us on almost a daily basis. Not just us, but those who we are leading and serving.

Saying 1I hope that you will continue to follow along with me while we take time to meditate on these sayings in the next couple months and allow God to put them deep in our hearts so we can apply them to our lives! I’d love to hear your thoughts so be sure to leave your comments, and follow my posts by clicking on the follow button on the bottom right of your browser.

Take some time now to ask God to open your hears, and ready your heart so these sayings of Counsel and Knowledge will cause us to be honest and to speak truth that we would live it out not only for our own benefits, but for those we serve as well.

Your Thoughts

