Step Off the Poor!

My second post in the new blog series Thirty Sayings of the Wise! Working through these wise sayings, let’s meditate on God’s heart.

Saying 2

Do not exploit the poor because they are poor
and do not crush the needy in court,
for the LORD will take up their case
and will exact life for life.

– Proverbs 22:22-23

God’s heart is so strong in this passage. We are warned not to exploit, take advantage, rob or walk over the poor. God’s heart is for these people. This scripture seems to be alluding to the fact that God would even go as far as to take the life of the one who did such a thing. So let’s not take this lightly!

Sometimes, even with those who have less than ourselves in our  own communities have needs while we have abundance. Keeping from them could be considered taking from them. Either way, if God’s heart so passionately fights for them, I want to do the same.

Even if you live in a place just as great as North America, but are considered lower class than most – this is no excuse to take advantage of whatever you can. As a child of God, we have a responsibility to give, even if it is all we have ourselves. As a child of God – even you are more blessed than someone who may have all the riches in the world but do not know the Lord.

One thing that I have has to remind myself of several times over – is that no matter how hard I think I may have things – I am not only more blessed than millions all over the world, but I have the Holy Spirit dwelling within me. There is always someone, somewhere who is going through something more difficult than you.

So take some time now and ask God, “What do I have of abundance?” or even “What need can I fill for someone less fortunate than myself?” Whether this person is poor in the eyes of our society, or truly poor in spirit – who’s holiday could you spice up a bit, just by showing some love?!

Sometimes poor is not what we think right off hand, and I’m sure I could go on with some further examples, but take some time with God and share with the rest of us in the comments what God is showing you through this verse! Don’t forget to continue to follow me through this blog Series of Thirty Sayings of the Wise by following along below. (Subscribe in the column to the left)

Missed Saying 1? Check it out here.

Your Thoughts

